Archives for liability

Multistate Sales Tax Amnesty Program for Online Retailers

The Multistate Tax Commission announced that it is working with 13 states to implement a sales tax amnesty program aimed at getting online retailers to register and file sales tax returns.  The main benefit of the amnesty program is that sellers will not be required to report prior period sales, nor be required to pay penalties or interest on any back taxes owed.  As of today, participating states include: Alabama, Arkansas, Colorado, Connecticut, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Nebraska, New Jersey, Oklahoma, Texas, Utah, and Vermont.  Eight additional states are considering participation but have not committed, and it is not clear whether
Read More

Categories: Newsletter and Updates.